The College of Technology’s Upsilon Pi Epsilon Honor Society Inducts New Members

The College of Technology’s Eta Chapter of the Upsilon Pi Epsilon (UPE) Honor Society inducted 34 members on Friday, April 7, 2017, at Davenport’s Lettinga Campus.  UPE President, Mr. Garrett Lampson presided over the ceremony held in the Robert Sneden Auditorium on the Grand Rapids Lettinga Campus. Mr. Lampson was joined on stage by Vice President Ms. Stefana Rusu, and Secretary Mr. Abner Musonda.  Dr. Pamela Imperato, Dean of the College of Business and College of Technology, opened the ceremony, in which three faculty members and 31 students were inducted into UPE.

Davenport University’s Eta chapter is one of seven UPE chapters in the state of Michigan.  Including Davenport, other UPE chapters in Michigan are located at Western Michigan University, University of Michigan, Grand Valley State University, Michigan State University, Kettering University, and Michigan Technological University.

Membership in UPE is by invitation only. Undergraduate students must meet minimum GPA and degree progress requirements, which include a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0 and a minimum GPA of at least 3.5 in degree courses. Graduate students must have completed at least 18 credits and have a minimum GPA of 3.6 in all coursework.

UPE is the first and only international honor society for the computing and information sciences.  The society was organized at Texas A&M University in 1967 and is endorsed by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and the IEEE Computer Society. UPE is also a recognized member of the Association of College Honor Societies (ACHS).

Faculty Inductees:  Linda LeSage, Dr. Vivianne Moore, and Jim Veneziano. Student Inductees:  Joshua Armstrong, Mohamed Attie, Joshua Bennett, Zachary Burkum, Angela Garcia, Chantele Geisenhaver, William Harris, Christopher Harrison, Kelsey Kuiper, Steven Morris, Abner Musonda, Shelby Notenbaum, Cory Parendo, William Pearson, Kevin Popovich, Stefana Rusu, Scott Shafer, Aaron Sowers, David Tierney, Marco Valverde, Douglas VanOost, Sandra Wohlford, and Kevin Yenglin.



No Responses