2017 Student Recognition Award Winners

On Wednesday, April 12, members of the DU administration, students, staff, and faculty from across the state joined together at the W.A. Lettinga Campus to celebrate the contributions of students and organizations during the 2016-2017 academic year. The banquet is an exclusive event with mingling, hors d’oeuvres, and a special ceremony to honor the finalists.

Congratulations to the students and student organizations that were nominated for this year’s Student Recognition Awards. Thank you to those that took the time to submit a nomination. The following faculty and staff members served as judges and carefully reviewed nominations – Laura Ayotte, Jessica Cheriez, Deann Giles, John Jaksa, Sara Mooney, and Dr. Gabriela Ziegler.

We congratulate and recognize these students for their hard work and dedication to the student body, campuses and community!

Below is a list of the finalists, winners for each category has a * near the name.

Student Leader of the Year

  • Crystal Crawford, Livonia
  • Marissa Beadle*, Grand Rapids
  • McKenzie Jackson, Grand Rapids
  • Rian Porter, Midland
  • Sean Cox, Grand Rapids
  • Vanessa Bessa, Lansing

Student Employee of the Year

  • Anthony Martinez, Grand Rapids
  • Brandee Mulac, Grand Rapids
  • Dania Rocha, Holland
  • Kevin Hicks, Grand Rapids
  • Sean Cox, Grand Rapids
  • Trisha Madura*, Grand Rapids

Volunteer of the Year

  • Courtenay Tafel, Grand Rapids
  • LaTarsha Holmes, Lansing
  • Tyler Maddox*, Grand Rapids
  • Sharon Ekume, Online

Diversity Program of the Year

  • Diversity Puzzle, Grand Rapids
  • International Education Week*, Grand Rapids

Educational Program of the Year

  • Chinese New Year, Grand Rapids
  • Multicultural Business Etiquette*, Lansing

Service Program of the Year

  • Alternative Spring Break, Grand Rapids
  • Making Strides Against Breast Cancer, Lansing
  • NAMIWalks – Grand Rapids 2016*, Grand Rapids

Social Program of the Year

  • Harry Potter Week, Grand Rapids
  • Life Size Pac Man, Grand Rapids
  • Panther Late Night*, Grand Rapids
  • Variety Show, Grand Rapids

Unsung Hero of the Year

  • Alexandra Corbett, Lansing
  • Amelia Van Buren, Grand Rapids
  • Brian Rich*, Grand Rapids
  • Corey Westenbroek, Grand Rapids

Outstanding RSO Officer of the Year

  • Aidan Fairman, Grand Rapids
  • Stefana Rusu, Grand Rapids
  • Vanessa Bessa*, Lansing

Registered Student Organization Advisor of the Year

  • Amy Krevda – Student Veterans of America, Grand Rapids
  • Linda LeSage – Women in Technology / DU Gamers, Grand Rapids
  • Sharon Flinn – Active Minds*, Grand Rapids

Registered Student Organization of the Year

  • Alternative Spring Break* (established), Grand Rapids
  • Campus Activities Board* (new), Grand Rapids
  • Global Student Organization, Grand Rapids
  • InterVarsity Christian Fellowship, Grand Rapids
  • Lansing Student Government, Lansing
  • Lansing Student Nurses Association, Lansing
  • Student Occupational Therapy Association, Grand Rapids


No Responses